[Appointments – Food Security Task Force]

Motion appointing Leo O'Farrell, Linda Lau, Maria LeClair, Paula Jones, Jessie Mandle, and Mei Ling Hui, for indefinite terms, to the Food Security Task Force, residency requirements waived.

MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco does hereby appoint the hereinafter designated persons to serve as members of the Food Security Task Force, pursuant to the provisions of the San Francisco Health Code, Sections 470.1 and 470.2, for the terms specified:

Leo O'Farrell, seat 8 (residency requirement waived), succeeding himself, term expired, must be from the Department of Human Services of the Human Services Agency, for an indefinite term.

Linda Lau, seat 9, succeeding herself, term expired, must be from the Department of Aging and Adult Services of the Human Services Agency, for an indefinite term.

Maria LeClair, seat 10 (residency requirement waived), succeeding herself, term expired, must be from the Department of Public Health, Nutrition Services, for an indefinite term.

Paula Jones, seat 11 (residency requirement waived), succeeding herself, term expired, must be from the Department of Public Health, Office of Food Systems, for an indefinite term.

Jessie Mandle, seat 12 (residency requirement waived), succeeding Maximilian Rocha, term expired, must be from the Department of Children, Youth and their Families, for an indefinite term.

Mei Ling Hui, seat 13, new appointment, must be from the Department of the Environment, Urban Agriculture program, for an indefinite term; and, be it

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors makes the following findings:

- 1. The membership of the Food Security Task Force has a goal to be representative of the diversity of the City and County of San Francisco.
- 2. Applicants Leo O'Farrell, Maria LeClair, Paula Jones, and Jessie Mandle, appointees, who are not residents of San Francisco, are persons with experience that uniquely qualifies them to serve on the Food Security Task Force.
- 3. The Food Security Task Force has attempted to fill the positions, for which Leo O'Farrell, Maria LeClair, Paula Jones, and Jessie Mandle were nominated, with individuals who are City residents and who have the specific experience, skills, and qualifications, but have been unable to do so at this time. The Rules Committee has certified that Leo O'Farrell, Maria LeClair, Paula Jones, and Jessie Mandle are qualified to serve on the Food Security Task Force.
- 4. After exercising due diligence, the Board of Supervisors concludes that there are no other possible representatives who are residents of San Francisco, who have the specific experience, skills, or qualifications possessed by these applicants, and who are willing to serve on the Food Security Task Force at this time; and, be it

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors waives the residency requirements for Leo O'Farrell, Maria LeClair, Paula Jones, and Jessie Mandle, as allowed in cases where no qualified City residents willing to serve can be found, pursuant to Section 4.101 of the City Charter that requires person(s) appointed to boards, commissions, and advisory bodies established by legislative act of the Board of Supervisors to be resident(s) of the City and County of San Francisco.



City and County of San Francisco Tails

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Motion: M13-038

File Number: 130143

Date Passed: March 05, 2013

Motion appointing Leo O'Farrell, Linda Lau, Maria LeClair, Paula Jones, Jessie Mandle, and Mei Ling Hui, for indefinite terms, to the Food Security Task Force, residency requirements waived.

February 21, 2013 Rules Committee - PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

February 21, 2013 Rules Committee - RECOMMENDED..

March 05, 2013 Board of Supervisors - APPROVED

Ayes: 10 - Avalos, Breed, Campos, Chiu, Cohen, Farrell, Kim, Tang, Wiener and

Yee

Absent: 1 - Mar

File No. 130143

I hereby certify that the foregoing Motion was APPROVED on 3/5/2013 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

Angela Calvillo
Clerk of the Board