6

9

13 14

12

15 16

18

19

17

2021

2223

2425

[Commission on the Status of Women]

COMMENDING THE COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN AND THIS YEAR'S HONORED RECIPIENTS OF THE WOMEN WHO MAKE A DIFFERENCE AWARD.

WHEREAS, The Commission on the Status of Women held its 8th Annual Women Who Make a Difference Awards Ceremony on July 6, 2000; and,

WHEREAS, This year's ceremony was held in conjunction with the 31st Annual Convention of the National Association of Commissions for Women, held July 5-9, 2000, and hosted by the Commission on the Status of Women in San Francisco; and,

WHEREAS, The Women Who Make a Difference Award recognizes women and businesses who have positively impacted the lives of women through employment and economic advancement; and,

WHEREAS, This year's recipients of the Women Who Make a Difference Award are Catherine Muther of The Women's Technology Cluster, Mara Rosales of the San Francisco International Airport, Catherine Sneed of The Garden Project, GirlGeeks.com, Belva Davis of KRON-TV, and Patti Chang of The Women's Foundation; and,

WHEREAS, The honorees have set examples as women who have truly made a difference, and in doing so, their work and dedication reflect both the spirit of the award and the mission of the Commission on the Status of Women; and,

WHEREAS, The Commission on the Status of Women has been a strong advocate and vigilant monitor to further the advancement of the status of marginalized women and girls; now therefore be it,,

RESOLVED, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco hereby commends the Commission on the Status of Women and this year's honored recipients of the Women Who Make a Difference Award.



City and County of San Francisco Tails

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Resolution

File Number:

001285

Date Passed:

Resolution commending the Commission on the Status of Women and this year's honored recipients of the Women Who Make a Difference Award.

July 17, 2000 Board of Supervisors — ADOPTED

Ayes: 10 - Ammiano, Becerril, Bierman, Brown, Kaufman, Leno, Newsom, Teng,

Yaki, Yee

Absent: 1 - Katz

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was ADOPTED on July 17, 2000 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

Jean Lum

Acting Clerk of the Board

JUL 2 8 2000

Date Approved

Mayor Willie L. Brown Jr.