

City and County of San Francisco

Meeting Minutes

Rules Committee

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Members: Ahsha Safai, Sandra Lee Fewer, Norman Yee

Clerk: Derek Evans (415) 554-7702

Thursday, June 8, 2017	2:00 PM	City Hall, Committee Room 263
	Special Meeting	

Present: 3 - Ahsha Safai, Sandra Lee Fewer, and Norman Yee

The Rules Committee met in special session on Thursday, June 8, 2017, with Chair Ahsha Safaí presiding.

ROLL CALL AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

Chair Safaí called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m. On the call of the roll, Chair Safaí, Vice Chair Fewer, and Member Yee were noted present. There was a quorum.

AGENDA CHANGES

There were no agenda changes.

REGULAR AGENDA

<u>170595</u> [Reappointment, Police Commission - Petra DeJesus]

Hearing to consider appointing one member, term ending April 30, 2021, to the Police Commission. (Clerk of the Board)

Seat 3, succeeding Petra DeJesus, term expired April 30, 2017, must be nominated by the Rules Committee or its successor and subject to confirmation by the Board of Supervisors, for a four-year term ending April 30, 2021.

04/30/17; RECEIVED. The vacancy for seat 3 was operative as of 4/30/2017 and consideration to nominate a new member has been referred to the Rules Committee, pursuant to Charter Section 4.109 and Board Rule 3.26.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Petra DeJesus; spoke on their qualifications. Supervisor London Breed (Board of Supervisors); presented information and responded to questions and answers throughout the hearing. Commissioners Thomas Mazzucco and Bill Hing (Police Commission); Stephen Jaffe; Yolandra Williams, President (Officers for Justice); Bob Baget; Christian Minefeld; Sue Bushnell; Luis Armando Pat (Armando Pat Coalition); Karen Fleishman; Trevor Martin; Friar John Smits (St. John's Episcopal Church); Maria Guillen (SEIU 1021); Malan; Esther Marks; Robert Dwight; Leah LaCroix (Youth Commission); Santiago Lebron (SEIU 2015); Lila Carrillo (Latino Young Democratic Club); Paulina Maldonado; Frank Martin del Campo; Laurel Muniz; Armand Dumalewski; spoke in support of Petra DeJesus. John Jones; shared various concerns relating to the hearing matter.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

Motion confirming the Rules Committee's nomination of, and reappointing, Petra DeJesus, term ending April 30, 2021, to the Police Commission. (Clerk of the Board) Petra DeJesus, seat 3, succeeding themself, term expired April 30, 2017, must be nominated by the Rules Committee or its successor and subject to confirmation by the Board of Supervisors, for a four-year term ending April 30, 2021.

Member Yee moved that this Motion be RECOMMENDED. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Fewer, Yee Noes: 1 - Safai

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the Rules Committee adjourned at the hour of 4:40 p.m.

N.B. The Minutes of this meeting set forth all actions taken by the Rules Committee on the matters stated but not necessarily in the chronological sequence in which the matters were taken up.