

City and County of San Francisco

Meeting Minutes - Final Public Safety Committee City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Members: David Chiu, Ross Mirkarimi, Bevan Dufty

Clerk: Gail Johnson (415) 554-4445

Monday, March 1, 2010	10:00 AM	City Hall, Legislative Chamber, Room 250
Regular Meeting		

MEETING CONVENED

The meeting convened at 10:07 a.m. **Present:** 3 - David Chiu, Ross Mirkarimi and Bevan Dufty

REGULAR AGENDA

100100 [Accept and Expend Grant - Department of Juvenile Probation - \$150,000] Sponsor: Maxwell

Resolution authorizing the Department of Juvenile Probation to retroactively accept and expend a grant in the amount of \$150,000 from the The Zellerbach Family Foundation to support the Department of Juvenile Probation's ongoing efforts in organizational and leadership development, in developing and implementing evidence based practices, and in strengthening partnerships with community based organizations.

01/26/10; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Public Safety Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Allison McGee, Director of Administrative Services, Department of Juvenile Probation; Douglas Yep; Mr. Wright.

RECOMMENDED.. by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Chiu, Mirkarimi, Dufty

100086 [Public Safety Issues Concerning Chronic Low-Level Crimes and Harassment] Sponsor: Mirkarimi

Hearing on public safety issues concerning chronic low-level crimes and harassment, including a discussion on the feasibility of a "no sit and/or lie" law, requiring presentations from the San Francisco Police Department, the District Attorney's office, and the Human Services Agency, and requesting a representative from the City Attorney's office to be present.

01/26/10; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Public Safety Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Heard in Committee. Speakers: Kevin Cashman, Assistant Chief of Operations, Police Department; Captain Teresa Barrett, Park Police Station, Police Department; Captain Dominic Celaya, Commanding Officer, Tenderloin Police Station, Police Department; Captain Anna Brown, Commanding Officer, Central Police Station, Police Department; Sheriff Michael Hennessey; Mr. Henderson, District Attorney's Office; Peg Stevenson, Controller's Office; Jeff Adachi, Public Defender; Male Speaker, Secretary, Shelter Monitoring Committee; Mike R., Mayor, City of Santa Cruz; Ernestine Weiss; David Oh; Joshua Vining, Mission SRO Collaborative; Star Crystal Mullins; Mr. Wright; Bill Hancock; Nina W., Program Coordinator, Homeless Youth Alliance; Alan Shausar, Director, American Civil Liberties Union, Northern California; Claire Howard; David O'Rourke; Renada Brown; Julio; Julio Loyola, Director, San Francisco Day Labor Program; Male Speaker; Jessica Sorvaag; Mark Brennan; Laura Hurtado, Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights; Kai Wison, Tenderloin Neighborhood Association; Yet Mui; Jim Siegal, Haight Street Merchant; Female Speaker; Susan Strolis, HAIA; Kent Ueyhara; HAIA Merchant Chair; Joseph Hall; Linda Chapman; Glendon Hyde; Joey Cain, President, Haight Ashbury Neighborhood Council; Richard Ivanhoe; Annie Le Guennec, Tenderloin Neighborhood Association: Justin Buell, Haight Ashbury Improvement Association; Kevin Carroll, Executive Director, Fisherman Wharf's Community Benefit District; Greg Kamin; Barbara Sing; Male Speaker, Coalition on Homelessness; Martin Baker; Maura McCarthy, Haight Ashbury Improvement Association Board: Tom Hsieh: Edward Evans. Community Resource Action Program; Robert Haaland; Curtis Lee, Haight Ashbury Improvement Association; Ted Loewenberg, President, Haight Ashbury Improvement Association; Erica Byrne; Orlon Ryel; David Cromime; Anakh Sul Janacek; Jennifer Friedenbach, Coalition on Homelessness; Steve Dobson; Male Speaker; Mr. Swarner, Alliance for Haight-Ashbury; Elena Sturnis, President, Fisherman's Wharf Merchants Association; Day Story; Ms. Nielsen; Gilbert; Len Miller, Mission Neighborhood Resource Center; Senikai Shal; Lani Ricco Buono, Homeless Youth Alliance; Shannon; Khristine Jones, Homeless Youth Alliance; Kyle House, Homeless Youth Alliance; Female Speaker; Dane; Raymond Montes, Homeless Youth Alliance: Karen Masonheimer, Haight Ashbury Neighborhood Council; Female Speaker, Homeless Youth Alliance; Beck; Wendy; Bob Walker; Traci Hinden; Female Speaker; Nancy Cross; Lorraine Lucas; John Hermosa; Oliver; Jonathan Theo Rodgers; Female Speaker; Robert Webber; William Morris; Female Speaker.

CONTINUED TO CALL OF THE CHAIR by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Chiu, Mirkarimi, Dufty

100020 [Penalties for Assaulting or Battering a Patrol Special Officer] Sponsor: Dufty

Resolution encouraging the Chief of the San Francisco Police Department to consider imposition of increased potential penalties for individuals who commit assault or battery on a patrol special police officer.

01/05/10; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Public Safety Committee.

Speakers: None.

RECOMMENDED by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Chiu, Mirkarimi, Dufty

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 3:23 p.m.