

City and County of San Francisco

Meeting Minutes

Public Safety Committee

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Members: Ross Mirkarimi, Malia Cohen, David Campos

Clerk: Gail Johnson (415) 554-4445

Thursday, April 7, 2011	10:30 AM	City Hall, Legislative Chamber, Room 250
Regular Meeting		

Present: 2 - Ross Mirkarimi, and David Campos Absent: 1 - Malia Cohen

MEETING CONVENED

The meeting convened at 10:39 a.m.

REGULAR AGENDA

110029 [Hearing - Pedestrian Safety in the South of Market] Sponsor: Kim

Hearing to consider presentations from the Municipal Transportation Agency, Planning Department, Department of Public Works, and Department of Public Health on pedestrian safety in the South of Market.

01/11/11; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Public Safety Committee.

Hearing held. Speakers: Supervisor Kim; Wen Koo Long, Community Tenants Association; Yow Chun Chu: Gloria Hernandez; Albert Reves; Male Speaker; Nata Monwell; Andie Borgoris; Donnie Bogran; Jazzie Collins, Senior Action Network; Nancy Cross; Pi Ra, Senior Action Network; Male Speaker; Don Langley; Julie Mailey; Jim Mara; Antonio; Female Speaker; Mel Salbander; Walter Paulson; Male Speaker; Dr. Rajiv Bhatia, Medical Director, Department of Public Health; Ana Validzic, Walk First Initiative; Megan Wier, Department of Public Health; Dr. Matthew Kutcher, San Francisco Injury Center, San Francisco General Hospital; Captain Al Casciato, Police Department, Traffic Company: Captain Joe Garrity, Police Department, Tenderloin Station: Officer John Anton, Police Department; Tim Papandreou, Director of Planning, Municipal Transportation Agency; Sylverster Guard, Jr., SRO Collaborative on 6th Street Plan; Bob Planthold, Senior Action Network; Richard Rothman, Pedestrian Safety Advisory Committee; James Whittaker; Katy Liddell. President, South Beach Rincon Neighborhood Association; Susan Nelson; Christopher Sandoval, Director, San Francisco Crisis Care: Mark Housewell, Program Manager, San Francisco Bicycle Coalition; Christopher Slaybor; Marc Solomon; Jeff Buckley, Tenderloin Housing Clinic; Joanna Grabuli, Executive Director, Mayor's Office on Disability; Ricardo Smith, Pedestrian Safety Advisory Committee; Elizabeth Stamp, Executive Director, Walk San Francisco.

FILED by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Mirkarimi, Campos Absent: 1 - Cohen

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 1:48 p.m.