

City and County of San Francisco Meeting Minutes Rules Committee

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Members: Hillary Ronen, Shamann Walton, Gordon Mar

Clerk: Victor Young (415) 554-7723

Monday, April 1, 2019

10:00 AM

City Hall, Committee Room 263

Regular Meeting

Present: 3 - Hillary Ronen, Shamann Walton, and Gordon Mar

The Rules Committee met in regular session on Monday, April 1, 2019, with Chair Hillary Ronen presiding. Chair Ronen called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

ROLL CALL AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

On the call of the roll, Chair Ronen, Vice Chair Walton, and Member Mar were noted present. A quorum was present.

AGENDA CHANGES

There were no agenda changes.

REGULAR AGENDA

190324 [Appointment - Commission on Aging Advisory Council]

Hearing to consider appointing one member, term ending March 31, 2021, to the Commission on Aging Advisory Council. (Rules Committee)

Seat 10, suceeding Allegra Fortunati, term expiring March 31, 2019, must be a nominee of the District 5 Supervisor, for a two-year term ending March 31, 2021.

03/20/19; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speaker: Allegra Fortunati; spoke on their qualifications and answered questions raised throughout the discussion.

Allegra Fortunata, seat 10, recommended.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

Motion reappointing Allegra Fortunati, term ending March 31, 2021, to the Commission on the Aging Advisory Council. (Rules Committee)

Allegra Fortunati, succeeding themself, term expired March 31, 2019, must be a nominee of the District 5 Supervisor, for a two-year term ending March 31, 2021.

Vice Chair Walton moved that this Motion be RECOMMENDED. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Ronen, Walton, Mar

190212 [Appointments, Veterans Affairs Commission - Hanley Chan, Victor Olivieri, David Chasteen, Stephen Martin-Pinto, George Chewning, and Christopher Todd McDonald]

Hearing to consider appointing one member, term ending January 31, 2020, and five members, terms ending January 31, 2023, to the Veterans Affairs Commission. (Rules Committee) Seat 1, succeeding Victor Olivieri, term expired, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

Seat 4, succeeding David Chasteen, term expired, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

Seat 7, succeeding Kevin Miller, term expired, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

Seat 8, succeeding Stephen Noetzel, term expired, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

Vacant Seat 9, succeeding Michael Maffei, resigned, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2020.

Vacant seat 11, succeeding Scott Joiner, resigned, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portions of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

02/26/19; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Hanley Chan; David Chasteen; George Chewning; Raymond Gobberg; Stephen Martin-Pinto; Christopher Todd McDonald; Victor Olivieri; Michael Scanlon; Franklin Myles Tucker; Robert Wining; spoke on their qualifications and answered questions raised throughout the discussion. Mr. Holmes; Alvin Louie; Linda Yokel; Raymond Lin; spoke in support of the appointment of Hanley Chan. George Ishikata; spoke in support of Douglas Bullard, Victor Olivieri and David Chasteen.

Victor Olivieri, seat 1, recommended.
David Chasteen, seat 4, recommended.
Stephen Martin-Pinto, seat 7, recommended.
George Chewning, seat 8, recommended.
Hanley Chan, seat 9, recommended.
Christopher Todd McDonald, seat 11, recommended.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

Motion appointing Hanley Chan, term ending January 31, 2020, and Victor Olivieri, David Chasteen, Stephen Martin-Pinto, George Chewning, and Christopher Todd McDonald, terms ending January 31, 2023, to the Veterans Affairs Commission. (Rules Committee)

Victor Olivieri, seat 1, succeeding themself, term expired, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

David Chasteen, seat 4, succeeding themself, term expired, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

Stephen Martin-Pinto, seat 7, succeeding Kevin Miller, term expired, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

George Chewning, seat 8, succeeding Stephen Noetzel, term expired, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

Hanley Chan, seat 9, succeeding Michael Maffei, resigned, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2020.

Christopher Todd McDonald, seat 11, succeeding Scott Joiner, resigned, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portions of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

Chair Ronen moved that this Motion be RECOMMENDED. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Ronen, Walton, Mar

Supervisor Ronen Excused from voting on File No. 190299

Vice Chair Walton moved to excuse Supervisor Ronen from voting on File No. 190299. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Walton, Mar Excused: 1 - Ronen

190299 [Appointment, Association of Bay Area Governments and Metropolitan Transportation Commission Legislative Task Force - Supervisor Hillary Ronen]

Motion appointing a Member of the Board of Supervisors, for an indefinite term, to the Association of Bay Area Governments and Metropolitan Transportation Commission Legislative Task Force. (Clerk of the Board)

03/12/19; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: None.

Member Mar moved that this Motion be AMENDED, AN AMENDMENT OF THE WHOLE BEARING NEW TITLE, to designate Supervisor Hillary Ronen as a member to the Association of Bay Area Governments and Metropolitan Transportation Commission Legislative Task Force. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Walton, Mar Excused: 1 - Ronen

Motion appointing Supervisor Hillary Ronen, indefinite term, to the Association of Bay Area Governments and Metropolitan Transportation Commission Legislative Task Force. (Clerk of the Board)

Member Mar moved that this Motion be RECOMMENDED AS AMENDED. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Walton, Mar Excused: 1 - Ronen

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the Rules Committee adjourned at the hour of 11:25 a.m.

N.B. The Minutes of this meeting set forth all actions taken by the Rules Committee on the matters stated, but not necessarily in the chronological sequence in which the matters were taken up.