BOARD OF SUPERVISORS CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO

MEETING MINUTES

Monday, January 9, 2017 - 10:00 AM

Legislative Chamber, Room 250 City Hall, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Inaugural Meeting

LONDON BREED, PRESIDENT
MALIA COHEN, MARK FARRELL, SANDRA LEE FEWER, JANE KIM, AARON PESKIN,
HILLARY RONEN, AHSHA SAFAI, JEFF SHEEHY, KATY TANG, NORMAN YEE

Angela Calvillo, Clerk of the Board

BOARD COMMITTEES

Budget and Finance Committee Wednesday Supervisors Farrell, Tang, Yee 1:00 PM 1st and 3rd Thursday **Government Audit and Oversight Committee** 10:00 AM Supervisors Peskin, Yee, Breed **Land Use and Transportation Committee** Monday 1:30 PM Supervisors Cohen, Peskin 2nd Thursday **Public Safety and Neighborhood Services Committee** 10:30 AM Supervisors Kim 2nd and 4th Thursday **Rules Committee** Supervisors Tang, Cohen 1:00 PM Members Present: London Breed, Malia Cohen, Mark Farrell, Sandra Lee Fewer, Jane Kim, Aaron Peskin, Hillary Ronen, Ahsha Safai, Katy Tang, Norman Yee, and Jeff Sheehy

The Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco met for the inaugural session on Monday, January 9, 2017, with Supervisor London Breed presiding.

ROLL CALL AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Presiding Officer called the meeting to order at 10:16 a.m. On the call of the roll, all Supervisors were noted present. There was a quorum.

COMMUNICATIONS

The Presiding Officer acknowledged the presence of elected officials, former elected officials, and various City Department heads.

Angela Calvillo, Clerk of the Board, informed the Board Members that she was in receipt of a notification from Mayor Edwin Lee, received on January 9, 2017, at 9:49 a.m., communicating his appointment of Jeff Sheehy to the District 8 Supervisor's seat.

Additionally, Clerk Calvillo informed the Members of the Board of Supervisors that she had received a communication from John Arntz, Director of Elections, certifying the candidates for the Office of Members of the Board of Supervisors who received a plurality of votes cast at the election held on November 8, 2016, and have been declared elected to that office, namely:

District 1 - Sandra Lee Fewer

District 3 - Aaron Peskin

District 5 - London Breed

District 7 - Norman Yee

District 9 - Hillary Ronen

District 11 - Ahsha Safai

Finally, Clerk Calvillo informed the Board Members that she had received a communication from the Controller confirming that certification of surety bond requirements were established for all newly elected, re-elected and appointed Supervisors, pursuant to Administrative Code, Article IX, Section 16.122(a)(e).

OATH OF OFFICE

The Presiding Officer introduced the Honorable Teri L. Jackson, Presiding Judge, Superior Court of California, County of San Francisco, who requested the newly elected, re-elected and appointed Board Members to stand; whereupon Judge Stewart administered the oath of office.

SENIORITY DETERMINATION

Clerk Calvillo informed the Board Members of the seniority ranking for the current and re-elected Members, as follows:

- 1) Mark Farrell
- 2) Malia Cohen
- 3) Jane Kim
- 4) Norman Yee
- 5) London Breed
- 6) Katy Tang
- 7) Aaron Peskin

Clerk Calvillo further provided the process for determination of seniority among the newly elected and appointed Members, pursuant to Board Rule 6.2.1, which was established as follows:

- 8) Hillary Ronen
- 9) Jeff Sheehy
- 10) Sandra Lee Fewer
- 11) Ahsha Safai

NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD

Clerk Calvillo provided the nominating principles, as follows:

- Members will be called as the names are placed on the roster:
- Nominees do not need to state on the record if they accept the nomination;
- Nominees do not need to vacate the Chamber;
- Members may nominate themselves;
- Nominees may vote for themselves;
- Nominees may withdraw their name without a second at any time;
- A second is welcome, but not required to be nominated;
- Members may nominate one person per round; and
- Once nominations are closed, nominations can be reopened by majority vote.

Supervisor Cohen, seconded by Supervisor Peskin, nominated Supervisor Breed for the Office of the President of the Board of Supervisors.

The Presiding Officer asked if there were any further nominations. There being no response, the nominations for the Office of the President of the Board of Supervisors were then closed.

GENERAL PUBLIC COMMENT

Andrew Yip; shared his various thoughts and experiences with the Board.

ELECTION OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD

Clerk Calvillo provided some of the principles for the election of the President of the Board of Supervisors, as follows:

- Roll call will be taken in alphabetical order; and
- Members should state the name of the preferred nominee when called.

The roll was called on the nomination of Supervisor Breed to the Office of the President of the Board of Supervisors.

Round 1 - The question on the nomination of Supervisor Breed to the Office of President of the Board of Supervisors PASSED by the following vote:

Ayes: 11 - Breed, Cohen, Farrell, Fewer, Kim, Peskin, Ronen, Safai, Sheehy, Tang, Yee

President London Breed assumed the chair as President of the Board of Supervisors.

REMARKS FROM THE MAYOR

President Breed introduced the Honorable Mayor Edwin Lee who congratulated the newly elected, re-elected and appointed Members of the Board of Supervisors.

REMARKS BY THE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

President Breed called on each newly elected, re-elected and appointed Member of the Board of Supervisors and afforded each an opportunity for brief remarks and introduction of family members or guests in attendance.

REMARKS BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD

President Breed introduced her family members and guests in attendance, acknowledged the hard work and dedication of her staff and volunteers, and stated her commitment to working with the Members of the Board and all City Department staff on issues that impact the citizens of San Francisco.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the Board adjourned at the hour 11:51 a.m.

N.B. The Minutes of this meeting set forth all actions taken by the Board of Supervisors on the matters stated, but not necessarily the chronological sequence in which the matters were taken up.

Approved by the Board of Supervisors on February 28, 2017.

Angela Calvillo, Clerk of the Board