

City and County of San Francisco

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Special Joint Meeting Minutes s Neighborhood Services and Safety Committee and Police Commission

Members: David Campos, Eric Mar, Norman Yee

Commissioners: Thomas Mazzucco, Joe Marshall, Suzy Loftus, Petra DeJesus, L. Julius Turman, Angela Chan, Carol Kingsley

Clerk: Derek Evans (415) 554-7702

5:00 PM City Hall, Legislative Chamber, Room 250

Special Joint Meeting

Present: 11 - David Campos, Eric Mar, Norman Yee, Thomas Mazzucco, Joe Marshall, Suzy Loftus, Petra DeJesus, Julius Turman, Angela Chan, Carol Kingsley, and Jane Kim

MEETING CONVENED

The meeting convened at 5:12 p.m.

REGULAR AGENDA

130834 [Hearing - Police Department Protocol for Investigating Cyclist and Pedestrian Fatalities and Serious Injuries Resulting from Traffic Collision] Sponsors: Kim; Wiener and Mar

Hearing to have the Police Department present its standard protocol for reviewing, investigating, and reporting findings of fault in the event of a cyclist or pedestrian fatality or serious injury as the result of a traffic collision.

09/03/13; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Neighborhood Services and Safety Committee.

10/03/13; CONTINUED TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. Heard in Committee. Speakers: Supervisors Scott Wiener and Jane Kim (Board of Supervisors); Deputy Chief Mike Biel (Police Department); Christine Deberry (District Attorney's Office); presented information concerning the matter and answered questions raised throughout the hearing. Leah Shahum (SF Bicycle Coalition); Stephen Bingham (Sylvia Bingham Fund); Natalie Burdick (Walk SF); Robin Levitt (Hayes Valley Neighborhood Association); Bert Hill (Bicycle Advisory Committee); Miles Cooper; Robin Brasso (Pedestrian Safety Advisory Committee); Patrick Valentino; Howard Bloomberg; Andrew Pederson (SF Bicycle Coalition); Zack Marks, Chair (Pedestrian Safety Advisory Committee); Edward Hasbrouck; Caroline "Mitsi" Hanrhan; Anthony Ryan; Stephen Lynch; Sarah Harling; Sandrine Bodet; Cathy Kora; Debi Gould; Steve Ferrero; Keith Lazuka; Matthew Kaftor; Dimitrius Spearman; Swamy G; David Caneer; Dan Jordon; Eric Anderle; Reggie Reed; Allan Craigie; Marc Brandt; C.W. Johnson; Walter Paulson; Janelle Wong; Kevin Stall; Krisha Nole; spoke in support of the hearing matter.

Supervisor Campos was noted absent at 12:07 p.m. and present at 12:14 p.m. Supervisor Yee was noted absent at 12:36 p.m. for remainder of meeting. Supervisor Campos was noted absent at 12:53 p.m. for remainder of meeting.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Supervisors Jane Kim and Scott Wiener (Board of Supervisors); Commissioners Thomas Mazzucco, President, and L. Julius Turman, Vice President (Police Commission); Chief Greg Suhr (Police Department); Commander Mikail Ali (Police Department); Commissioner Joe Marshall (Police Commission); Ed Reiskin, Director (Municipal Transportation Agency); Natalie Burdick (Walk SF); Leah Shahum (SF Bicycle Coalition); Commissioners Suzy Loftus, Petra DeJesus, Angela Chan, Julius Turman, and Carol Kingsley (Police Commission); Traci Teraoka; Paul Chishti (Recology); presented information concerning the matter and answered questions raised throughout the hearing. Jikaiah Stevens; Jakkee Bryson; Wendy Beck (Walk SF); Christelle Harris; Rev. Norman Fong (Chinatown Community Development Center); Lisa; David; C.W. Johnson; J.C. Castle; Priva Sawhney; Michael Helquist; Debbi Gould (Pedestrian Safety Advisory Committee); Howard Bloomberg (Pedestrian Safety Advisory Committee): Male Speaker: Kevin Stull: Duane Soubirous: John Alex Lowell (Pedestrian Safety Advisory Committee); Edward Hasbrouck (SF Bicycle Coalition); Zack Marks, Chair (Pedestrian Safety Advisory Committee); Male Speaker; Kate McCarthy (Walk SF); Michael Tschantz; Andrew Pederson; Male Speaker; Male Speaker; Kelly Baker (Tenderloin Neighborhood Development Corporation); Madeleine Savit (Folks for Polk); Anthony Ryan; Cathy Kora; Joseph Steinberger (Walk SF); Linda Chapman; Bill Gandy; Amy Chen; Paulette Brown; Carla Johnson (Mayor's Office on Disability); Peter Mendoza; Barry Korengold (SF Cab Driver's Association); Jim Margolis; David Elliot Lewis (Mental Health Board); Sacha lelmoriui; Brent Sverdloff; Rick Hauptman; Henry Pan; Manish Chempsee; shared various concerns on the hearing matter.

Supervisor Mar was noted absent at 7:11 p.m. for the remainder of the meeting. Supervisor Kim was noted absent at 9:11 p.m. for the remainder of the meeting.

FILED by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Campos, Yee Excused: 1 - Mar Absent: 1 - Kim Non-Voting: 7 - Mazzucco, Marshall, Loftus, DeJesus, Turman, Chan, Kingsley

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 9:09 p.m.