

## TRANSBAY JOINT POWERS AUTHORITY

The below listed summary of seats, term expirations and membership information shall serve as notice of vacancies, upcoming term expirations, and information on currently held seats, appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Appointments by other bodies are listed, if available.

Seat numbers listed as "VACANT" are open for immediate appointment. However, you are able to submit applications for all seats and your application will be maintained for one year, in the event that an unexpected vacancy or opening occurs.

## **Membership and Seat Qualifications**

Seat #	Appointing Authority	Seat Holder	Term Ending	Qualification
1	SFMTA	Jeffrey Tumlin	Indefinite	Appointed by Municipal Transportation Agency, subject to confirmation by Board (may appoint alternate)
2	BOS	Supervisor Rafael Mandelman	Indefinite	Member of Board of Supervisors, appointed by Board.
3	BOS	Charles Lavery Residency waived	Indefinite	must have expertise in large, complex infrastructure funding, policy and/or project delivery.
4	BOS	Tilly Chang	Indefinite	(Alternate to Seats 2 (Member of the Board) and 3), Tilly Chang, must have expertise in large, complex infrastructure funding, policy and/or project delivery.
N/A	Mayor	Elaine Forbes	Indefinite	Appointed by Mayor Breed

### **BOARD OF SUPERVISORS (BOS) APPLICATION FORMS AVAILABLE HERE**

- English https://sfbos.org/sites/default/files/vacancy\_application.pdf
- 中文 https://sfbos.org/sites/default/files/vacancy\_application\_CHI.pdf
- Español https://sfbos.org/sites/default/files/vacancy application SPA.pdf
- Filipino https://sfbos.org/sites/default/files/vacancy\_application\_FIL.pdf

(For seats appointed by other Authorities please contact the Board / Commission / Committee / Task Force (see below) or the appointing authority directly.)

# FORM 700 FILING REQUIREMENT

Pursuant to the Board of Supervisors Rules of Order all applicants applying for this body must complete and submit, with their application, a copy (**not original**) of a Statement of Economic Interests (Form 700). Applications will not be considered if a copy of Form 700 is not received.

## **FORM 700 AVAILABLE HERE (Required)**

https://www.fppc.ca.gov/Form700.html

#### THE APPLICATION PROCESS

Please Note: Depending upon the posting date, a vacancy may have already been filled. To determine if a vacancy for this Commission is still available, or if you require additional information, please call the Rules Committee Clerk at (415) 554-5184.

<u>Next Steps</u>: Applicants who meet minimum qualifications will be contacted by the Rules Committee Clerk once the Rules Committee Chair determines the date of the hearing. Members of the Rules Committee will consider the appointment(s) at the meeting and applicant(s) may be asked to state their qualifications. The appointment of the individual(s) who is recommended by the Rules Committee will be forwarded to the Board of Supervisors for final approval.

The Transbay Joint Powers Authority ("TJPA") was established to design, build, and operate the Transbay Transit Center Program, which is being developed in two phases: first phase being the construction of the Transit Center for bus operations; and second phase being the development of the downtown extension of Caltrain and eventually the California High Speed Rail to the Transit Center. The TJPA is a joint exercise of powers authority created by the City and County of San Francisco, the Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District, the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board, and Caltrains (ex-officio).

The TJPA is overseen by an eight (8) member board of directors (but only seven (7) voting members), with the following appointed or confirmed by the Board of Supervisors:

- One (1) member appointed by the Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Director who may appoint an alternate, confirmed by the Board of Supervisors;
- One (1) member of the Board of Supervisors, appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
- One (1) member with expertise in large, complex infrastructure funding, policy and/or project delivery, appointed by the Board of Supervisors; and
- One (1) alternate member who is an alternate to both Board-appointed members with expertise in large, complex infrastructure funding, policy and/or project delivery, appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

These members shall serve for indefinite terms, until resignation or removal by the appointing authority.

The composition of the other members are as follows: one (1) member appointed by the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board-Caltrain (JPB); one (1) member appointed by AC Transit; one (1) member appointed by the Mayor of San Francisco, or his/her alternate; one (1) member appointed by the California Hight Speed Rail Authority; and one (1) ex-officio member appointed by the State Department of Transportation (Caltrans).

Authority: Government Code, Sections 6502 et seq.; Board Resolution Nos. 104-01, 393-17,

and 108-18; and TJPA Bylaws.

Sunset Date: None

Contact: Nila Gonzales

425 Mission Street, Ste. 250 San Francisco, CA 94105

(415) 597-4620 ngonzales@tjpa.org

Updated: May 25, 2025