PREPARED IN COMMITTEE 3/20/2023

FILE NO. 230289

and Laura Urban1

MOTION NO. M23-046

2

1

3

5

7

8

9

11

12

13 14

15

16

17 18

19

20

21

2223

24

25

Motion appointing Chester Williams (residency requirement waived), John lesha Ena,
Marna Armstead, Francis Abigail Cabrera, Jamey Schmidt, Linda Ye, Eva Holman, and
Laura Urban, terms ending December 31, 2024, to the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax

[Appointments, Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee - Chester Williams, John

lesha Ena, Marna Armstead, Francis Abigail Cabrera, Jamey Schmidt, Linda Ye, Eva Holman,

Advisory Committee.

MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco does hereby appoint the hereinafter designated persons to serve as members of the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee, pursuant to the provisions of Administrative Code, Article IV, Sections 5.20 and 5.21, for the terms specified:

Chester Williams (residency requirement waived), seat 1, succeeding Vanessa Bohn (residency requirement waived), term expired, must be held by a representative of a nonprofit organization that advocate for health equity in communities that are disproportionately impacted by diseases related to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2024;

John lesha Ena, seat 2, succeeding Maysha Bell, term expired, must be held by a representative of a nonprofit organization that advocate for health equity in communities that are disproportionately impacted by diseases related to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2024;

Marna Armstead, seat 3, succeeding themself, term expired, must be held by a representative of a nonprofit organization that advocates for health equity in communities that are disproportionately impacted by diseases related to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2024;

Francis Abigail Cabrera, seat 4, succeeding themself, term expired, must be an individual who is employed at a medical institution in San Francisco and who has experience in the diagnosis or treatment of, or in research or education about, chronic and other diseases linked to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2024:

Jamey Schmidt, seat 5, succeeding Diana Lau, term expired, must be an individual who is employed at a medical institution in San Francisco and who has experience in the diagnosis or treatment of, or in research or education about, chronic and other diseases linked to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2024;

Linda Ye, seat 6, succeeding Kiana Sezawar Keshavarz, term expired, must be a person who is under 19 years old at the time of appointment and who may be a member of the Youth Commission, nominated by the Youth Commission and appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2024. (Note: If the person is under legal voting age and unable to be an elector for that reason, the person may hold this seat, but upon reaching legal voting age, the person shall relinquish the seat unless he or she becomes an elector, in which case the person shall retain the seat.);

Eva Holman, seat 15, succeeding Dianna Cavagnaro, term expired, must be a parent or guardian of a student enrolled in the San Francisco Unified School District at the time of appointment, nominated by the San Francisco Unified School District's Parent Advisory Council, and appointed by the Board of Supervisors, if the Parent Advisory Council declines to nominate a member to the vacant seat for 60 days, the Board of Supervisors may appoint a member of the pubic to fill the seat, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2024;

Laura Urban, seat 16, succeeding Maureen Guerrero, term expired, must be a person with experience or expertise in services and programs for children five years old and under, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2024; and, be it

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors makes the following findings:

- 1. The membership of the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee has a goal to be representative of the diversity of the City and County of San Francisco.
- Applicant Chester Williams, who is not a resident of San Francisco, is a person with experience that uniquely qualifies them to serve on the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.
- 3. The Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee has attempted to fill the position, for which Chester Williams was nominated, with an individual who is City a resident and who has the specific experience, skills, and qualifications, but has been unable to do so at this time. The Rules Committee has certified that Chester Williams is qualified to serve on the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.
- 4. After exercising due diligence, the Board of Supervisors concludes that there is no other possible representatives who is a resident of San Francisco, who has the specific experience, skills, or qualifications possessed by this applicant, and who is willing to serve on the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee at this time; and, be it FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors waives the residency requirement Chester Williams, as is allowed in cases where no qualified City resident who is willing to

for Chester Williams, as is allowed in cases where no qualified City resident who is willing to serve can be found, pursuant to Charter, Section 4.101(a)(2), that otherwise requires person(s) appointed to boards, commissions, and advisory bodies established by legislative act of the Board of Supervisors to be resident(s) of the City and County of San Francisco.



City and County of San Francisco **Tails**

City Hall I Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Motion: M23-046

File Number:

230289

Date Passed: March 21, 2023

Motion appointing Chester Williams (residency requirement waived), John Iesha Ena, Marna Armstead, Francis Abigail Cabrera, Jamey Schmidt, Linda Ye, Eva Holman, and Laura Urban, terms ending December 31, 2024, to the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.

March 20, 2023 Rules Committee - PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

March 20, 2023 Rules Committee - RECOMMENDED AS COMMITTEE REPORT

March 21, 2023 Board of Supervisors - APPROVED

Ayes: 11 - Chan, Dorsey, Engardio, Mandelman, Melgar, Peskin, Preston, Ronen, Safai, Stefani and Walton

File No. 230289

I hereby certify that the foregoing Motion was APPROVED on 3/21/2023 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

> Angela Calvillo Clerk of the Board