“AarongavelSupervisor Aaron Peskin

Aaron Peskin is the President of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, representing District 3, which is comprised of the historic neighborhoods of North Beach, Chinatown, Fisherman’s Wharf, Polk Gulch, Union Square/Financial District and Russian, Telegraph and Nob Hills. He has lived in District 3 for over thirty years.

He is currently serving his fifth non-consecutive term on the Board of Supervisors, after serving two terms from 2001-2009 (including two terms as the unanimously-elected President of the Board, prior to recently being elected Board President again on January 7, 2023.). During his previous terms in office, Aaron Peskin was a leader to preserve and expand affordable housing in District 3 and citywide. He helped pass the city’s first inclusionary housing law, which required private developers to create affordable housing, and later co-authored the landmark increase to those affordable housing requirements in 2016/17. He has long been one of the Board’s leading policy makers on environmental sustainability, waterfront protections and conservation.

He currently serves as a member of the Land Use and Transportation Committee for the Board of Supervisors.

He also serves as a Commissioner on both the Bay Conservation & Development Commission (BCDC) and the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority, as well as a member of the City’s Capital Planning Committee (CPC), Committee on Information Technology (COIT), and Disaster Relief Council. He also previously served as a Co-Chair of the SF Transportation Task Force 2045 and a member of the Executive Steering Committee for the Seawall Resiliency Project. He served on the California Coastal Commission from 2017 to 2019.

Aaron received his bachelor’s degree in Modern Society and Social Thought from UC Santa Cruz, and lives in Telegraph Hill with his wife and two cats.